Rhodes’ Phi Beta Kappa Chapter to Induct New Members

The Rhodes College Chapter of Phi Beta Kappa (Gamma of Tennessee) is pleased to announce that the following students from the Class of 2015 have been invited to join the Society as Members-in-Course:


Omair Mohammad Arain (Chemistry) 
Stefan Alexander Auld (English) 
Gabrielle Elizabeth Bailey (Chemistry) 
Robyn Angela Barrow (Art History) 
Ailsa Bryce (Latin American Studies) 
Taryn E. Burgess (Mathematics and Economics) 
Arielle Nicole Carpenter (German) 
Shelley Claire Choudhury (Neuroscience) 
Emily Elizabeth Clark (English) 
Monica Elizabeth Costello (Economics and Commerce & Business) 
Kathryn Cyrus (Neuroscience) 
Katelyn Brooke Dagen (Psychology) 
Tina H. Dao (Biochemistry & Molecular Biology) 
Kelly Drane (Urban Studies) 
Sawyer Lee Earwood (History & International Studies) 
Lanier Flanders (History) 
Leah Ford (Anthropology & Sociology) 
Alex Patrick Galloway (Urban Studies) 
Lauren Hales (Religious Studies) 
Blake Austin Harrell (Biochemistry & Molecular Biology) 
Eliza Belle Hendrix (Psychology) 
Matt Hicks (History) 
Courtney Hornsby (International Studies) 
Carlos Theodore Huerta (Biology) 
John Kyle Jenkins (Neuroscience) 
Mason Lee Johnson (Greek & Roman Studies and Philosophy) 
Sarah Ashley Johnson (Biology) 
Stephanie Kasper (Anthropology & Sociology) 
Cameron Marcus McGarrah (Russian Studies) 
Allison T. Montague (History) 
Adam Fine Petraglia (Biology) 
Caroline E. Ponseti (Political Science) 
Jennifer Rote (Chemistry) 
William Gunter Roudabush (English) 
Kaitlyn Ann Shamley (History) 
Taylor Lee Sieben (Environmental Science) 
Philip Luke Spinolo (Physics) 
Anna Marie Stachura (Biochemistry & Molecular Biology) 
Amelia Stout (Greek & Roman Studies) 
Madison Kaytlyn Tallant (Psychology) 
Chelsea Evan Temple (Economics)

The following members of the Class of 2015 accepted membership during their junior year: 
Alyssa Johnson (Neuroscience and German) 
Sarah Koehler (Psychology and Spanish) 
Phuong Binh Le (Biochemistry & Molecular Biology) 
Hannah May Lin (Chemistry) 
Katherine Michelle Robinson (Biochemistry & Molecular Biology) 
Mark E. Sellers (Physics) 
Braden Taylor (Biochemistry & Molecular Biology) 
Olivia Marilee Warfield (Commerce & Business)

Junior inductees from the Class of 2016 will be announced at the Awards Convocation on Friday, May 1.

All new members of Phi Beta Kappa will be inducted in a ceremony that will be held at 11:30 a.m. on Friday, May 15 (the day of the Baccalaureate service), in Hardie Auditorium of Palmer Hall. The annual luncheon will follow the induction ceremony at approximately 12:30 p.m. in the Refectory. Dr. Martha Saavedra, Rhodes College Phi Beta Kappa Class of 1983 and the fourth recipient of the Peyton Nalle Rhodes Prize, will be the speaker. Members of the Rhodes community are invited to attend both of these events. The induction is free, but the luncheon costs $18 per person, and reservations are required. For reservations, please contact Dr. Susan Satterfield of Department of Greek and Roman Studies at satterfields@rhodes.edu.

Phi Beta Kappa is America’s oldest collegiate honor society. Founded in 1776, its campus chapters invite for induction the most outstanding liberal arts students at America’s leading colleges and universities. Fewer than one percent of U.S. college graduates are eligible. Membership is one of the highest academic honors a student can attain, and it stands as a life-long mark of excellence in the study of the liberal arts. The Society champions the liberal arts — the humanities, the social sciences, and the natural sciences — in higher education and in society at large.

The Rhodes College Chapter of Phi Beta Kappa is consistently ranked among the best in the nation. The Gamma of Tennessee Chapter was established at Rhodes College on Dec. 5, 1949. It was the 143rd in the nation to be chartered and the third in the state of Tennessee; there are currently 286 chapters in the United States. In addition to recognizing outstanding students and awarding the college’s highest academic honor (the Peyton Nalle Rhodes Prize), the chapter sponsors lectures by distinguished visiting scholars.