Rhodes’ Phi Beta Kappa Chapter to Induct New Members

Phi Beta Kappa certificate

The Rhodes College Chapter of Phi Beta Kappa (Gamma of Tennessee) is pleased to announce that the following students from the Class of 2021 have been invited to join the Society as Members-in-Course:
Lydia Booth (Business)
Libby Owen Bridges (Educational Studies)
Brady Richards Chrisler (Biology)
Anne Griffith Cunningham (English and Educational Studies) 
Taylor Renee Duncan (Psychology and Educational Studies)
Caroline Finney Farrell (Business and Neuroscience)
Grace Files (International Studies and History)
Helen Marie Files (Biology)
Jaclyn Claire Flood (International Studies and History)
Tara Fredenburg (English)
Ashby Chandler Glover (History)
Emma Hauck (Greek and Roman Studies)
Thomas Byron Hayden III (Economics)
Grant Allen Hill (Political Science)
Duc Hoang (Physics)
Katherine Rose Hutcheson (Music)
Patricia Michelle Jones (Business)
Sam Justice (History)
Lauren King (International Studies and History)
Emma Kruse (Anthropology/Sociology)
Natalie Elizabeth Manoogian (History)
Noah B. Mesa (Neuroscience)
Abigail Kaitlyn Morici (Greek and Roman Studies and English)
Lyba Adnan Naseer (Psychology)
Anna Walker Nottingham (Psychology)
Madison Peticolas (Business)
Aidan Phelan (Economics)
Kristin Brook Reed (Biochemistry and Molecular Biology)
Sara Scherer (Neuroscience)
Meredith Eloise Schoel (Psychology and Educational Studies)
Shelby Nicole Seese (English)
Yuxin Shi (Physics)
Nathaniel Manley Siler (Political Science and Chinese)
Lily Smith (Educational Studies)
Luke Matthias Staffelbach (Spanish and Latin American/Latinx Studies)
Alana Strauss (Environmental Science and Religious Studies)
Athena Tiwari (Chemistry)
Brandon Reece Waddell (Neuroscience)
Kevin Wang (Computer Science)
Adam Cole Wyatt (Greek and Roman Studies)
Madison Zickgraf (English)
The following members of the Class of 2021 accepted membership during their junior year:

Katie E. Gaffney (Neuroscience)
Savannah M. King (Physics)
Anna M. Murphree (Physics)
Ramiz A. Somjee (Biochemistry and Molecular Biology)
Benjamin L. Yaffee (Computer Science)
Linhao Zheng (Philosophy)
Two additional members of the Class of 2021 accepted membership as seniors, with the class of 2020:

William T. Freyaldenhoven (Biochemistry and Molecular Biology)
Carter S. King (Computer Science)
Junior inductees from the Class of 2022 will be announced at Awards Convocation.
Founded in 1776, Phi Beta Kappa is America’s oldest collegiate honor society. Its campus chapters invite for induction the most outstanding liberal arts students at America’s leading colleges and universities. Fewer than one percent of U.S. college graduates are eligible. Membership is one of the highest academic honors a student can attain, and it stands as a life-long mark of excellence in the study of the liberal arts. Phi Beta Kappa champions the liberal arts — the humanities, the social sciences, and the natural sciences — in higher education and in society at large.

The Gamma of Tennessee Chapter was established at Rhodes College on Dec. 5, 1949, and it has been ranked among the best in the nation. It was the 143rd in the nation to be chartered and the third in the state of Tennessee; there are currently 290 chapters in the United States. In addition to recognizing outstanding students and awarding the college’s highest academic honor (the Peyton Nalle Rhodes Prize), the chapter sponsors lectures by distinguished visiting scholars.