Rhodes College Athletics Wins SAA Commissioner’s Cup

group of student athletes on a stage

Rhodes College Athletics has won the 2019 Southern Athletic Association’s (SAA) Commissioner’s Cup for the second year in a row.
The Commissioner’s Cup, formerly known as the President’s Trophy, recognizes regular season standings across each institution’s top eight sports per gender. After a two-year hiatus, this is the second year for the current format to be utilized. 
Rhodes won six regular season titles in Men’s Cross Country, Women’s Golf, Men’s Lacrosse, Women’s Lacrosse, Men’s Track & Field, and Women’s Track & Field. Runner-up teams included Field Hockey, Men’s Soccer, Women’s Soccer, Men’s Swimming & Diving, Women’s Swimming & Diving, and Men’s Tennis. Those 12 teams, including six from the spring, combined for 90 of Rhodes’ 133 earned points. After taking each gender’s top eight teams, the Lynx totaled 113 points, three more than last year’s total, to win the Commissioner’s Cup. Rhodes was split down the middle with three men’s champions and three women’s champions, as well as each gender earning three second-place finishes.
Not counting toward the standings, Rhodes also earned four conference tournament champions, four-plus All-Americans, five Coach of the Year and one regional Coach of the Year honors, seven Players of the Year, and five Newcomers of the Year. The Lynx have had six NCAA team appearances this year, with more teams and individuals in the running.
This is Rhodes’ third time earning the Commissioner’s Cup. The Lynx won in 2014-15 and finished second in 2012-13 and 2013-14.