Rhodes College’s Phi Beta Kappa Chapter to Induct New Members

image of a Phi Beta Kappa certificate

The Rhodes College Chapter of Phi Beta Kappa (Gamma of Tennessee) is pleased to announce that the following students from the Class of 2022 have been invited to join the Society as Members-in-Course:
Elizabeth Grace Baldwin (English) 
Amy Band  (Psychology and Spanish)
Emilie Blais (Psychology)
Christopher Joseph Carron (Biomathematics)
Reis Chehardy (Biology)
Joseph I. Chopra (Biology)
Caitlin Cooner(Art History)
Olivia Louise DuCharme (English and Greek & Roman Studies)
Mary Corinne Fletcher (History)
Eleanor Fontana (Biology)
Brendan Fusco (International Studies and Spanish)
Maggie Gilbert (Educational Studies)
Abigail Gobble (Mathematics)
Emily Haas (Music)
Sheridan Hardy (Religious Studies)
Benson Hazelwood (Health Equity)
Emma Jane Hopper (History)
Olivia Drew House(Neuroscience)
John William Howell (Political Economy and Philosophy)
Mariam Hibah Khayata (International Studies and Political Science)
Alexis Kohnke (Mathematics and Religious Studies)
Olivia Natarajan Lane (Business and Art History)
Diana Miranda Jimenez (English and Latin American & Latinx Studies)
Ava Arushi Mitra (Neuroscience)
Lauren Moore (Political Science)
Ha Nguyen (Economics and Mathematics)
Chae Youn Park (Computer Science)
Callie Perkins (Neuroscience)
Alisha Ria Pershad (Chemistry)
Elizabeth Phillips (Greek & Roman Studies)
Lily Roberts (Environmental Studies and Economics)
Zachary Roder (Mathematics)
Emma Root (Biology)
Sarah Schweitzer (Biology)
Sarah Shambaugh (Psychology and Religious Studies)
Graham Edward Shank (Mathematics and Economics)
Natalie L. Smith (Political Science and French & Francophone Studies)
Eliza Combest (English Literature)
Catherine Snyders (Biology)
Sydnie Thornton (English Literature)
Ana Trpchevska (Neuroscience)
Rory Wilson (Music)

The following members of the Class of 2022 accepted membership during their junior year:

Carolyn Bruce (English)
Megan Crouse (Educational Studies and History)
Finn Giddings (Physics)
Giuliana Hofheins (Physics)
Marisa Hudspeth (Greek & Roman Studies and Computer Science)
Griffin Laird (Chemistry and Spanish)
Ryan Sullivan( Mathematics and Economics)
Junior inductees from the Class of 2023 will be announced at the college’s Awards Convocation on April 29.

Founded in 1776, Phi Beta Kappa is America’s oldest collegiate honor society. Its campus chapters invite for induction the most outstanding liberal arts students at America’s leading colleges and universities. Fewer than one percent of U.S. college graduates are eligible. Membership is one of the highest academic honors a student can attain, and it stands as a life-long mark of excellence in the study of the liberal arts. Phi Beta Kappa champions the liberal arts — the humanities, the social sciences, and the natural sciences — in higher education and in society at large.

The Gamma of Tennessee Chapter was established at Rhodes College on Dec. 5, 1949, and it has been ranked among the best in the nation. It was the 143rd in the nation to be chartered and the third in the state of Tennessee; there are currently 290 chapters in the United States. In addition to recognizing outstanding students and awarding the college’s highest academic honor (the Peyton Nalle Rhodes Prize), the chapter sponsors lectures by distinguished visiting scholars.