Rhodes’ Phi Beta Kappa Chapter Announces Members from the Class of 2018 to Be Inducted

Phi Beta Kappa Certificate

Phi Beta Kappa is America’s oldest collegiate honor society and champions the liberal arts and sciences in higher education and in society at large. Since its founding in 1776, U.S. Presidents, U.S. Supreme Court Justices, and Nobel Laureates have been inducted as members, along with countless authors, diplomats, athletes, researchers, actors, and business leaders. Membership is for life, and only about 10 percent of the nation’s institutions of higher learning have Phi Beta Kappa chapters.

The Rhodes College Chapter (Gamma of Tennessee) of Phi Beta Kappa is pleased to announce that the following students from the Class of 2018 have been invited to join as members-in-course: 

Jordan Page Ankersen (mathematics and physics)    
Alexandra Bartlett (neuroscience)
Rachel Courtney Bassett (biology)
Brad V. Bierdz (educational studies and history)
Jennifer Lynn Bitterly (English and philosophy)
Margaret Huston Bradley (English)
Kathryn Claire Brode (music and environmental studies)
Emily Rose Buddy (English and political science)
Erin Enger Burman (biology)
Keyshawn Butts (computer science)
Virginia Carr (political science)
McKenna Davis (mathematics and physics)
Robert Garner DelBello (biology)
Garrett Nathaniel Durbin (biology)
Alice Selene Fugate (English)
Olivia Glenn (anthropology/sociology)
Ellery Anne Hayden (neuroscience)
Hannah Marie Hornsey (English)
Lisa Renee Hsi (psychology)
Matthew Thomas Huber (physics)
Roger F. Johnson (history)
Aidan M. O'Reilly (biology)
Andrea Olivia Pajarillo (chemistry)
James Arthur Patton III (economics)
Grant James Ramey (economics and business)
Caroline Virginia Reilly (anthropology/sociology)
Noah Benjamin Rinehart (philosophy and religious studies)
Mark J. Robinson (business)
Rachel Jane Rotter (art history)
Natalie Scanlon (urban studies)
Laurel Cassidy Sharp (chemistry)
Roxanne Ruoxi Shen (economics)
Yi Song (mathematics and physics)
Grady Vaughan (Russian studies and international studies)
Susannah Lawrence Williams (international studies)
McLean Williamson (biochemistry and molecular biology)
Anania Woldetensaye (biochemistry and molecular niology)

The following members of the Class of 2018 accepted membership during their junior year: Julie Coen, Hope Elizabeth Elliott, Eleanor Hook, Jenny Loome, Andy Nguyen , Barry E. Rich, and Zain Mohammad Virk. Junior inductees from the Class of 2019 will be announced at the college’s Awards Convocation on April 27. 

All new members of Phi Beta Kappa will be inducted May 11 in a ceremony to be held in McNeill Concert Hall beginning at 11:30 a.m. The ceremony is open to the public.