Students Inducted Into Classical Studies Honor Society

group of students standing at table with candles for an induction ceremony

Twenty Rhodes students were inducted this academic year into the national honor society for classical studies, Eta Sigma Phi. Sean Moore, Samuel C. Naids, Bailey Cook, Avani Alapati, Emma Hauck, Rhiannon Rainey, Ramiz A. Somjee, Adam C. Wyatt, Abigail H. Lidoski, Joshua Benton, Nicholas Kokoropoulos recently were inducted. Sean O’Brien, Iqra S. Siddiq, Tamara Banna, Terra Martin, Emma Norman, Monroe McKay, Elizabeth Dial, Mary Rowe, Natalie Prodanovich  became members the fall 2017 semester. 

These students qualified by completing the third semester of ancient Greek or Latin and earning at least a B+ average in all classes in Greek and Roman Studies.  The local chapter was led this year by Thomas Matthews (president), Marie Vencil (vice president), John Ford (secretary), and Aaron Romanowski, (treasurer).

Romanowski, Martin, Cook, and Hauck attended the national convention of the society held March 23-25 at Dickinson College in Carlisle, PA, and Romanowski was one of four students to present research to the over 120 assembled student delegates and faculty.  His paper, “The Use of the Cult of the Saints in the Milan Basilica Crisis of 385 CE,” was written under the direction of Prof. Ariel López. The local chapter is advised by Prof. David Sick, who also serves as the national executive secretary

Image removed.

Aaron Romanowski at the convention