Rhodes College Announces Strategic Plan that Centers on Student Experience and Community Engagement

The Rhodes College Board of Trustees unanimously adopted the college’s new ten-year strategic plan, Achieving Our Best: A Strategic Vision for Rhodes College 2020-2030. The plan will strengthen the college’s commitment to provide a decidedly residential liberal arts and sciences education and maps the college’s objective to facilitate growth sustainably while maintaining and enhancing the academic and creative excellence that gives Rhodes graduates an edge that they carry throughout their professional life. 

Dorian Canales ’20 Empowers Others Through Dynamic Leadership

Rhodes student leader Dorian Canales ’20 has set his sights on leading businesses into the future and empowering others to succeed. This past summer, he worked as a global planning and engineering technology intern at FedEx Express, as well as attended the Harvard Business School Summer Venture in Management Program. “Rhodes has helped me develop a strong foundation and the necessary transferable skills to thrive in any industry,” says Canales.

New Athletics Giving Challenge Is a Big Hit, Brings in More Than $71,000 in Donations

Rhodes College launched a new Athletics Giving Challenge on Oct. 22, and the results are in—$71,232 in donations and 568 donors. “The outpouring of support we’ve received in our inaugural Athletics Giving Challenge was overwhelming and proves how special the Rhodes community is when it comes to our student-athletes,” says Matt Dean, director of athletics. “We can’t thank our alumni, parents, and friends enough for surpassing our initial goals.”

The Mellon Foundation Awards Rhodes College $900K to Strengthen Health Equity Education in Memphis

The Andrew W. Mellon Foundation has awarded $900,000 to Rhodes College to support its innovative initiatives to educate students and citizens about social and cultural determinants of health. The new initiatives made possible by this grant will empower humanities and social science faculty to build out curriculum that more robustly incorporates issues of health equity and to strengthen and create public humanities partnerships in the Memphis region.

Arts Entrepreneurship Class and Lecture Series Emphasize Memphis Leaders Bridging Art and Business

Visiting assistant professor and internationally-renowned music director, conductor, and scholar Zak Ozmo's Arts Entrepreneurship class, which has brought together students from a vast array of disciplines, seeks to broaden students' understandings of careers in the arts and expand their professional networks. The class includes a lectures series featuring Memphis leaders who work at the intersection of arts and business and is open to the entire Rhodes community.

Rhodes College Professors Join in Nationwide Discussion About Slavery in America and Its Aftermath

Although Africans had a presence in the Americas in the 1500s, it is the year 1619—with the arrival of Africans in Virginia— that is commonly used as a starting point for teaching about slavery in the United States. The story of these captives 400 years ago has set the stage for discussions about the institution of slavery and its aftermath. Professors Trimiko Melancon, Gordon Bigelow, Kijan Bloomfield, and Charles McKinney are joining in Oct. 21 with a panel discussion on campus.